White Rock Gospels 5:20

 

We all stopped to watch
as it tuned up
this sunset
this luxurious unveiling
this moving picture of
color six miles past description

at the lake
on the lake
in the lake

Some of us even                                                                    Some things
put down our phones                                                           Escape capture

Walking through the
fantastic shifting backdrop
reds orange gold pink
turquoise purple green
I lingered til near dark
then set out only to be drawn back
three times
Intoxicated
a willing victim
of death by color

And the thought crept in that
if I can’t live by the lake
I am free to visit
And if I am
as the song that’s been sighing in my head
goes
through with love
and all its sweet terrible imperfection
at least I am drinking it in here
in the deep reds
tangled up passion and fear
And no matter how
it ended up
I made my lover smile

Alone is not fatal

I am free
I am in those colors
swirling changing evolving becoming

All I have to do now
is find me

 

 

WRL 5:20/12-13-15

About Vicki Caroline Cheatwood

Writerly. Rebooting. Evolving. Searching for great chicken salad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to White Rock Gospels 5:20

  1. SL says:

    Lovely

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

  2. Dana Mullen says:

    I do indeed love to read your words Ms. Vicki.

Leave a Reply

