Housecoats

housecoats

I’m thinking about these women this morning, and many more in my life who raised me, comforted me, provoked and inspired me with their wit, strength, labors, works of the heart, and ideas.

Here’s to the ladies in the housecoats.

It is family, the one at the center, and the constant formation of family, by blood and by heart, that makes life in the widowhood bearable. I love you, my family. I love you, my sons. I love you, my friends.

I’m bone-tired and lonely as hell, and still, somehow, my heart is full.

How lucky am I?

About Vicki Caroline Cheatwood

Writerly. Rebooting. Evolving. Searching for great chicken salad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Housecoats

  1. Wendy Welch says:

    Hear Hear! I love my women in housecoats too! And I love you!

Leave a Reply

