Lent by slogans

Easy Does It.

The best way for me to screw up Lent is to cram too much into it.

First Things First.

Last night, I deactivated my Facebook account. No matter how I’ve tried to control how much time I spend on Facebook, I’ve failed. It’s my favorite velvet rut. I know I’m in it, but it’s way comfy, so most of the time, I don’t mind being stuck.  Except, I do.

Keep It Simple.

Tonight, at a meditative Ash Wednesday service, I lit a candle and asked the Great Whatever, “May I please come home?”

This is most authentic prayer that I’ve said since 2010.

I think this is a good sign.

About Vicki Caroline Cheatwood

Writerly. Rebooting. Evolving. Searching for great chicken salad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lent by slogans

  1. broderick5@aol.com says:

    You have no idea how much encouragement you provide me. I strive to live the life of courage, authenticity and truth. Your writing holds the mirror up to my face and often requires me to alter my thinking in the most positive ways. Thank you.

    PS – I posted your link on the “velvet rut”.

    Love: it is the answer.

Leave a Reply

