To my absent groom, on the 49th anniversary of his birth

To my absent groom, on the 49th anniversary of his birth

We raised a glass to Mark last night. Ate barbecue. Talked about nonsense, talked about the world and music and art. Laughed a lot. Sat around the fire. Spirits were consumed. Poker was played.

Life here is finite. Mark came to understand that before he slipped away on March 22nd. Life is finite. Love never ends.

To my groom, my love, my best friend, and my champion – salute.

About Vicki Caroline Cheatwood

Writerly. Rebooting. Evolving. Searching for great chicken salad.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To my absent groom, on the 49th anniversary of his birth

  1. Alan Woods says:

    glasses raised in Ohio to Mark and you all (metaphorically right now, literally later on tonight!)

  2. Dana Mullen says:

    That is one of the most lovely, powerfull, honoring tributes any man has ever received.

  3. Suzanne Lavender says:

    Thanks for spending some of this day (my and mark’s bday) with me. I realize it can’t have been too easy–to celebrate with me this terrible yet necessary and wonderful day. And of course, thanks for today! Those pics will be forthcoming. Love you cuz!

Leave a Reply

