Mi Media Naranja

They kept appearing in the dishwasher

The knives

you always fussed about

“The good knives don’t go in the dishwasher”

“The handles will wear out faster”

“It makes them dull”

On and on until I had finally caved and agreed

the knives would instead sit unwashed on the side of the sink

for forever

and

a day

until one day one of us would capitulate

wash them, dry them, shove them in the block

Until one day last year

there they were in the dishwasher day after day

stuck down in the silverware basket

I fussed at the kids

“You’ll ruin them”

“This means something to your dad, okay”

“Just please don’t do it again”

You were in the kitchen when I opened up the dishwasher

and there they were again

blades haphazardly shoved down through the hard mesh

I said something something damn kids something something they never listen

Good knives do not belong in the dishwasher

“No” you said “It was me.”

And I stopped and look back at you

You were serious

I said “But – but they’ll get ruined”

And you said

“It doesn’t matter. None of it matters.”

Your face said

Talk to me I am so angry I am afraid I am dying

It was a blast, a gong, a scream, a shredding, a falling away

You did not say it

and I did not respond

except to fuss at you

We let it go on by

I put the knives by the sink

And you went back into the other room

And sat in your chair

And stared at the tv and I

did whatever

And now the paring knife is missing

Mi Media Naranja  7/23/2012

About Vicki Caroline Cheatwood

Writerly. Rebooting. Evolving. Searching for great chicken salad.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mi Media Naranja

  1. sandy haley says:

    Your writing always evokes so much emotion in me but this was over the top.
    Thank you for sharing!

  2. laini shortino says:

    I cannot write the beautiful words and emotions you do. There are so many occurences that happen that George and I both think,oh mark would appreciate this. Then we realize we cannot tell him,we pray he shares them with us. I am sorry we cannot help you walk the path you are on but we are always here if you need a hand to hold. We pray as your friends have said,to hold you,uplift you,and bring you some comfort. Much love,George and Laini

Leave a Reply

